Bawumia leads NPP manifesto team

Vice President of Ghana Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia

As the country gears up for the 2020 campaign, which will, undoubtedly, be fought on the performance of the Akufo-Addo government, against the record of the previous Mahama government, the governing NPP has assembled a crack team of top brains to work on its manifesto.

The 10-member committee is headed by Vice-President Mahamudu Bawumia, who is most likely to lead the governing party’s campaign for re-election.

Other members of the committee are Ken Ofori-Atta, Minister of Finance; Alan Kyerematen, Minister of Trade and Industry; Matthew Opoku Prempeh, Minister of Education; Hajia Alima Mahama, Minister of Local Government and Rural Development; Elizabeth Ohene, a former Minister of State in charge of Tertiary Education; Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto, Minister of Food and Agriculture; Kwaku Agyeman-Manu, Minister of Health; Yofi Grant, chief executive officer of Ghana Investment Promotion Centre; and Yaw Buaben Asamoa, communications director of NPP.

READ MORE:  NPP justifies a need for Akufo-Addo's 2nd Term


The committee’s mandate, according to a statement signed by NPP’s general secretary, John Boadu, include undertaking a holistic review of the party’s 2016 manifesto and to engage all relevant stakeholders on the subject with the view to coming out with the party’s 2020 manifesto.

“It is the anticipation of the party that the Manifesto Committee would discharge its mandate competently and professionally, and accordingly produce a comprehensive Manifesto document that addresses all the legitimate concerns of the Ghanaian people and also meets their aspirations in order to propel the party to yet another resounding electoral victory at the 2020 polls,” he said in the statement.

READ MORE:  Eight major footbridges on central corridor roads up for construction

NDC’s committee

In October last year, the opposition National Democratic Congress inaugurated a 21-member manifesto committee, chaired by a former Minister of Health under the Mills administration, Professor Kwaku Danso-Boafo.

Prominent members of the committee, which was inaugurated by the party’s national chairman, Samuel Ofosu-Ampofo, include Haruna Iddrisu, Minority Leader; Professor Jane Nana Opoku-Agyeman, former Minister of Education; and Mr Ekwow Spio-Garbrah, former Minister of Trade and Industry.

Throwing more light on the work of the committee, Mr Ofosu-Ampofo said the committee would engage professional groups and relevant stakeholders in formulating a “working document that will detail the expectations and areas Ghanaians would want the NDC government to focus on.”

READ MORE:  NPP Primaries: Business mogul picks nomination forms to contest lower west Akyem seat

Source: Daily Statesman



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here