Elizabeth Ohene appointed as Board Chair of SSNIT

Elizabeth Ohene

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has appointed Madam Elizabeth Ohene as the new Board Chair of the Social Security and National Insurance Trust (SSNIT).

The one-time Minister of State under the Kufour regime will replace Dr Kwame Addo Kufour who served as Board Chair from 2017 to 2020.


Miss Elizabeth Akua Ohene was born on January 24 1945, and attended Mawuli School at Ho, between 1958 and 1964.

She gained admission to the University of Ghana in 1964, and graduated with B. A. (Hon) English in 1967.

The former Minister of State also attended University of Indiana, Bloomington, Ind. U.S.A. where she obtained a Mass Communication certificate. The US State Department sponsored her to undertake a course involving travel around the USA and also has work experience from newspapers in three States in 1971.

She was a Press Fellow from January to June 1983 at Wolfswon College, University of Cambridge in the United Kingdom.

Miss Elizabeth Ohene’s professional experience between 1967 and 1982 in Graphic Corporation saw her as a Reporter, Staff Writer, Columnist, Lead Writer and Acting Editor of the Daily Graphic and Mirror.

She also had the opportunity to serve as a Member of a Board of Directors of the Corporation.

In 1986, she solely founded the Talking Drum Publications and until 1986, she was the Publisher/Editor of the publications, a weekly news magazine on West African Affairs. She also worked for BBC World Service, London, UK.

Madam Ohene had worked with the BBC as a Producer of Radio Programmes, then successively became a Presenter, Senior Producer on World Service and British Domestic Radio, Researcher and Columnist on the Focus on Africa Magazine and Deputy Editor in the African Service for English Daily Programmes, and in charge of the operational budget.

To date, the Minister has been a Board member of the International Commission of Investigative Journalists, which coordinates major investigations of stories around the world. Since 1997, she has served as a Member of CNN Africa Journalist of the Year Competition.

Credit: Citinewsroom


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here