20th June 2024

Jeff Konado (left), E/R secretary, and Alhaj Sibdow Yakubu, N/R secretary

The governing NPP will start vetting its aspiring parliamentary candidates in the Northern and Eastern regions from today, Wednesday March 4.

In two separate releases, the regional secretaries of the two regions outlined the times and dates for the prospective aspirants are to appear for the exercise.


Alhaj Sibdow Alhassan Yakubu, the Northern Regional secretary, said in a release that the party will use two days, March 4 and 5, for the vetting.

The statement said all 11 aspirants from Bimbila, Savelugu, Tolon, Wulensi and Nanton constituencies will be vetted today, while the remaining 11 from Kpandai, Yendi, Gushegu and Saboba constituencies will be vetted tomorrow.


In all, 22 aspirants are contesting for the nine available slots. Key among them are the Minister of Defence and MP for Bimbila, Dominic Nitiwul, who is seeking to maintain his seat; a former National Nasara Cordinator, Kamal-Deen Abdulai, who is contesting the Nanton slot; a son of the late Vice-President Aliu Mahama, Farouk Aliu Mahama, who is contesting the Yendi slot; a Deputy Minister of Tourism, Arts And Culture, Dr Ziblim Iddi, who is seeking to maintain the Gushegu seat; and Mathew Nyindam, Deputy Majority Chief Whip, who is seeking to maintain the Kpandai.

Mr Nitiwul, Mr Nyindam and MP for Savelugu, Mohammed Somed Gunu, are unopposed.

“APCs must note that aside from the members of the constituency elections committee (CEC) and constituency executives and their personal aides, no other persons shall be allowed in the vetting room. APCs are further cautioned to restrain the behaviour of their supporters for a smooth and incident-free vetting process,” the statement said.

Eastern Region

In the Eastern Region, a statement from the regional secretary, Jeff Konadu Addo, indicated that the party will use three days for the exercise. Starting today, March 4, the party will break for the 6th March Independence Day celebration and end the exercise on Saturday March 7.

Aspirants from 11 constituencies are expected to be vetted today. They are from Akuapem South, Akuapem North, Okere, New Juabeng North and New Juabeng South. Others are Suhum, Ofoase-Ayerebi, Abetifi, Mpraeso, Upper Manya and Asene-Manso-Akroso.

Tomorrow will see aspirants from eight constituencies vetted. They are from Akyem Achiase, Akyem Swedru, Akyem Oda, Lower West Akyem, Akwatia, Kade, Ayensuano and Nsawam.

The party will wrap up the vetting on Saturday with aspirants from Atiwa East, Atiwa West, Fanteakwa North, Fanteakwa South, Abirim, Nkawkaw, Abuakwa North and Abuakwa South constituencies.

In all, 74 aspirants are battling for the available 27 slots. Out of the 74, five, Bryan Acheampong, Minister of State at the Presidency in charge of Interior and MP for Abetifi; Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, Minister of Information and MP for Ofoase/Ayirebi; Dan Botwe, Minister of Regional Reorganisation and Development and MP for Okere; Joseph Tetteh, MP for Upper Manya Krobo; and George Kwame Aboagye, MP for Asene-Manso-Akroso, are going into the contest unopposed.




About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *