22nd July 2024

Mr Mark Arkoh (right), Returning Officer for Akyem Oda, presents Mr Akwasi Acquah as the MP-elect for the area.

Dr Prince Hamid Armah, Executive Secretary for the National Council for Curriculum and Assessment (NaCCA), has won the Kwesimintsim seat in the Western Region to secure a seat in Ghana’s next Parliament on the ticket of the New Patriotic Party (NPP).

He polled 24, 785 of the total votes cast to defeat his main contender, Philip Fiifi Buckman of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), who secured 13, 409 votes, while Mr Samuel Kwabena Antwi, of the Progressive People’s Party (PPP), obtained 467 votes.

Total valid votes were 38, 661, with 284 rejected ballots, out of the total votes cast of 38, 945.

Party faithful and sympathizers of Dr. Armah surrounded the party office at Kwesimintsim to share their excitement.

The Kwesimintsim constituency was carved out of the then Effia-Kwesimintsim constituency, with its first MP as Mr Joe Baidoo-Ansah, in 2012, while the incumbent took over from Mr Baidoo-Ansah in a closely fought primaries prior to the 2016 general elections.

Dr. Prince Hamid Armah is a lecturer and education and research consultant with teaching, research and policy engagement experiences in both the United Kingdom and Ghana contexts for over 18 years. He is currently the Executive Secretary of the National Council for Curriculum and Assessment (NaCCA), having been appointed by President Akufo-Addo.

Akyem Oda

In the Akyem Oda constituency, former PRO of the National Health Insurance Authority and Chief Executive of Community Group of Hospitals, Alexander Akwasi Acquah, polled 25,380 votes to win to represent the constituency on the ticket of the NPP in the next Parliament.

He beat Asante Jones, of the NDC, who polled 6,262 votes, and Ansah Lucy, of GUM, who polled 301, to secure the seat, which used to be occupied by former Deputy Agric Minister and current CEO of the Tree Crop Development Authority (TCDA), William Agyapong Quaittoo.

The Akyem Oda seat, between 1996 and 2008, was occupied by Senior Minister Yaw Osafo-Maafo.

Okaikwei South

Dakoa Newman, the NPP parliamentary candidate for Okaikwei South, in the Greater Accra, was also on Tuesday declared winner with 40,393 votes. Abraham Kotei Neequaye of the NDC had 26,019 votes.

Mr Joseph Quartey, the Constituency Returning Officer, who declared the results, said total valid votes were 66,412; rejected ballots, 444; and total votes cast was 66,856.

Seats maintained

Deputy Minister of Agriculture, Osei Kennedy Nyarko, also polled 11180 votes to retain the Akyem Swedru seat, beating his only contender, Taaju Abdu Rahim, of the NDC, who polled 4503 votes.

Daughter of the late former President Rawlings, Dr Zenator Agyemang-Rawlings, also won to maintain her Korle Klottey seat for the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC)

She polled 39,343 of the valid votes cast in the December 7.

Official results declared by the Constituency Returning Officer gave Mr Prince Debrah Appiah, the candidate of the NPP, 31,154 of the valid votes cast; and Mr Fred Ntow Boateng, the candidate of the Liberal Party of Ghana (LPG), had 190 votes.

Incumbent Dr Alfred Okoe Vanderpuiye, of the NDC, was also declared winner of the Ablekuma South constituency contest with 36,896 votes.

Mr Bernard Brown, the candidate of the NPP, had 23,198 of the valid votes cast.

Meanwhile, Daily Statesman’s Yaaba Yamikeh reported that the NPP has retained all the five parliamentary seats in the Sekondi-Takoradi metropolis, with the party’s flagbearer, President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, also winning with a bigger margin.


About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *