22nd July 2024

Outspoken Member of Parliament for Assin Central in the Central Region, Kennedy Agyapong has once again comfortably retained the Assin Central seat for the governing New Patriotic Party.

This is the sixth time the MP is securing his seat in Parliament.

He was first elected a member of parliament in 2000 to the seat of Assin North. He retained his seat in the 2004 and 2008 parliamentary elections.

In 2012, he was elected in the new seat of Assin Central and was re-elected in 2016.

In the 2020 polls, Mr. Agyapong polled 19,754 votes.

His main contender who contested on the ticket of the opposition National Democratic Congress garnered 14,747 votes.

Source: Citi Newsroom

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *