22nd July 2024

The National Democratic Congress (NDC), on May 13, 2023, conducted its presidential and parliamentary primaries in preparation for the 2024 elections.

Some incumbent Members of Parliament (MPs) were unsuccessful in their bids to represent their constituencies and party in the upcoming elections.

Among them was A.B.A Fuseini, the MP for Sagnarigu, who lost to newcomer Attah Issah, who secured 801 votes compared to Fuseini’s 330.

Similarly, Wisdom Kobena Woyome, the MP for South Tongu, was defeated by Maxwell Kwame Lukutor, who received 597 votes while Woyome got 562.

Dela Sowah, the MP for Kpando, lost to Sebastian Fred Deh with 332 votes to Sowah’s 281, and Dr. Kwabena Donkor of Pru East was defeated by Emmanuel Kwaku Boam, who received 474 votes.

In Bia West, Augustine Tawiah, the incumbent MP, lost to Mustapha Amadu Tanko, who secured 935 votes to Tawiah’s 452.

Edward Bawa, the MP for Bongo, was also defeated by Charles Bawaduah, who received 535 votes to Bawa’s 509.

Additionally, in Sekyere Afram Plains, Dr. Alex Adomako Mensah lost to newcomer Hajia Nasira Afrah, while in Krachie East, the incumbent MP Wisdom Gidisu lost to Nelson Kofi Djabab, who secured 441 votes to Gidisu’s 257.

Sampson Tangombu Chiragia, the MP for Navrongo, lost with 447 votes to Simon Akibange Aworigo, who won with 475 votes.

Angela Alorwu-Tay, the MP for Afadzato South, lost her bid to retain her candidacy to Frank Afriyie, who secured 631 votes compared to Alorwu-Tay’s 225.

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *