16th May 2024

The governing NPP has inaugurated a nine-member committee to oversee the successful launch of the party’s manifesto ahead of the December 7 general election. The manifesto will be launched on Saturday, August 22, 2020 in Cape Coast

The committee, inaugurated yesterday, is chaired by Oboshie Sai Coffie. Other members include the Minister of Communications, Ursula Owusu-Ekuful; the party’s National Organiser, Sammi Awuku; Deputy Director of the 2020 campaign team, in charge of operations, Lord Commey; a presidential staffer, Evron Hughes; and the National treasurer, Kwabena Abankwa Yeboah.

The rest are the Director of Finance and Administration, Collins Nuamah; the Central Regional Chairman, Robert Kutin Jnr; the National Women Organiser, Kate Gyamfua; and a Deputy Chief Executive Officer of MASLOC, Abibata Shanni Mahama.

PCs’ Verification Committee

The party also inaugurated what it calls the Parliamentary Candidates’ (PCs’) Verification Committee. The committee is charged with the mandate to scrutinize and verify all relevant records of the party’s 275 parliamentary candidates to ensure they meet all the eligibility requirements enshrined in the 1992 Constitution.

The verification, according to the party, is to be completed before it goes ahead to file for their nominations at the Electoral Commission as the party’s parliamentary candidates for this year’s election.

The Committee, chaired by Lawyer Frank Davies, has the Minister of Sanitation, Cecilia Dapaah, Dr Clifford Braimah, Francis Albert Nyonyo, Gifty Oware-Aboagye and Kofi Nti as members.

The party’s Director of Elections and Research, Evans Nimako, will act as secretary to the committee and will be assisted by Alhaji Iddi Muhayu-Deen, a press aide to party’s General Secretary, John Boadu.

Responsibility with diligence

Inaugurating the committees, the NPP General Secretary charged members to discharge their responsibility with diligence in order to vindicate the confidence reposed in them by the party leadership. He congratulated them on their nomination, and urged them not to disappoint the party.

For their part, chairpersons of the committees, who spoke on behalf of their members, thanked the party leadership for the opportunity to serve on the respective committees, and promised to work assiduously in furtherance of the party’s interest at all material times.





About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *