21st June 2024

Six players have been dropped by CK Akonnor in his latest team to face Sudan in a double-header in the 2021 AFCON qualifiers.

Among the players dropped are Lumor Agbenyenu (Sporting Club – Portugal), Yakubu Mohammed (Azam FC – Tanzania), Kasim Nuhu (Fortuna Düsseldorf  – Germany), Eugene Ansah (Ironi Kiryat Shmona – Israel), Kamal Deen (FC Nordsjælland), and Mohammed Kudus (Ajax Amsterdam – The Netherlands).

The 46-year-old gaffer did not state why he dropped these six players but the positive COVID-19 test recorded by Kasim Nuhu after the last international break is believed to be a major factor for his omission from the team.

Ajax youngster, Mohammed Kudus has also been left out of the team after sustaining an injury against Liverpool in the UEFA Champions League.

C. K Akonnor, however, handed a debut call-up to Jamie Lewelling German-born, 19-year-old winger, who plays for the German side, Greuther Fürth.

Ghana will host Sudan at the Cape Coast stadium on Thursday, November 12, before traveling to Khartoum to face the Falcons five days later in the reverse fixture.

Ghana top Group C with 6 points following victories against South Africa and São Tomé and Príncipe in November 2019.

Full squad:


Richard Ofori (Orlando Pirates – South Africa)

Razak Abalora (Kumasi Asante Kotoko- Ghana)

Richard Ati Zigi (St. Gallen – Switzerland)


Alexander Djiku (Strasbourg – France)

Nicholas Opoku (Amiens – France)

John Boye (FC Metz – France)

Benson Anang (MSK Zilina – Slovenia)

Baba Rahman (Chelsea FC – England)

Harrison Afful (Columbus Crew – USA)

Joseph Aidoo (Celta de Vigo – Spain)

Gideon Mensah (Vitoria de Guimaraes)


Baba Iddrisu (RCD Mallorca – Spain)

Thomas Partey (Arsenal – England)

Mubarak Wakaso (Jiangsu Sunning – China)

Emmanuel Lomotey  (Amiens – France)


Samuel Owusu (Al-Ahli Jeddah – Saudi Arabia)

Andre Ayew (Swansea City – England)

John Antwi  (Pyramid FC – Egypt)

Jeffery Schlupp (Crystal Palace – England)

Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace – England)

Jamie Lewelling (Greuther Fürth – Germany)

Tariq Fosu (Brentford – England)

Caleb Ekuban (Trabzonspor – Turkey)

Source: CitiSports

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *