16th July 2024

The 20th edition of the Vodafone Ghana Music Awards came off at the new dome at the Accra International Conference Centre (AICC) on Saturday 18th May, 2019.

The biggest names in Ghanaian and African music all gathered at the  auditorium for the prestigious awards.

Two keenly contested categories this year were  ‘Artiste of the Year’ and the ‘Artiste of the Decade’. However, Reggae Dancehall Artiste of the year was the award category slated to get a lot of people talking. The category was keenly contested between BET Award Winner Stonebwoy and 3Music Award Winner Shatta Wale.

Due to a scuffle that ensued during the award’s night between fans of Stonebwoy and Shatta Wale, two categories, Most Popular Song of the Year and Artiste of the year were withheld by the organizers.


Below is the full list of winners for the night

Traditional Artiste of the Year – Kwan Pa

Instrumentalist of the Year –  Mizter Okyere


Lifetime Achievement Award – Dr Rev Mrs Mary Ghansah

Lifetime Achievement Award – Obuoba J.A. Adofo

Lifetime Achievement Award – Prof Kofi Abraham

Unsung Artiste of the Year – Kula

Gospel Song of the Year – Diana Hamilton for ‘Mo Ne Yo’

Highlife Song of the Year – Shatta Wale for ‘My Level’.

Reggae/Dancehall Song of the Year – Shatta Wale for ‘Gringo’

Hiphop Song of the Year – Kwesi Arthur for ‘Anthem’

Hiplife Song of the Year – ‘Obiaa Wone Master’ by Yaa Pono feat Stonebwoy

Afropop Song of the Year – ‘Akwaaba’ by Guilty Beatz feat Mr Eazi, Pappy Kojo and Patapaa

Gospel Artiste of the Year – Diana Hamilton

Highlife Artiste of the Year –  Kuami Eugene

Hiplife/Hiphop Artiste of the Year – Medikal

Reggae/Dancehall Artiste of the Year – Stonebwoy

Music Video of the Year – ‘Come and See My Moda’ by MzVee feat Yemi Alade

Best Collaboration of the Year – ‘Kpoo Keke’ by Stonebwoy feat Medikal, Kwesi Arthur, Darko Vibes & Kelvyn Boy

Record of the Year – ‘Hye Me Bo’ by Akwaboah

Songwriter of the Year – King Promise for ‘CCTV’

Producer of the Year – Kuami Eugene

Sound Engineer of the Year – Francis Osei for Akwaboah’s ‘Sh3 Me Bo’

African Artiste of the Year – Burna Boy

Rapper of the Year – Medikal

Best African collaboration – ‘Akwaaba’ by Guilty Beats feat Mr. Eazi, Patapaa & Pappy Kojo


Best Group of the Year – Bethel Revival Choir

New Artiste of the Year – Wendy Shay

Album of the Year – ‘Rockstar’ by Kuami Eugene

Artiste of the Decade – Sarkodie

Source: http://eveningmailgh.com


About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *